I need to go ahead and get this out of my head before it leaves me completely. Ive posted the sermon notes from our service yesterday. You can find a couple of posts down. Essentially, our Pastor was talking to us about submitting control to God. It’s easy to say, but many of us have some real control issues! Then, there are some of us who maintain a stoic public face, but behind our eyes, we are doing this to God,

“GAAAAWWWWWDDD, WHHHHHHHYYYYYYY????!!!!!! WHHHYYY GAWD!!! WHY ME, WHY NOW, WHY NOT HIM OR HER? I”M LIVING MORE RIGHT THAN SALLIE MAE AND FREDDIE MAC!! WHY ARE THEY SO RICH AND I”M SCRAPING TO GET BYYY!!! WHYYYYYYYY!!!!”

Know how I know? I’ve done it. I do it. I used to tell people all of the time that I was a patient man. LIE. I asked God for patience one day, and God showed me that I’m the most impatient person that I know. Even in times when it seems warranted to ask God why, it’s still not cool. If we are taking off our shoes and completely submitting, then what good does WHY do? Either we are going to trust Him or we aren’t.

So, this is what I’m looking at, and this will be the only political statements that you will EVER hear me say. This past election got on every last one of my nerves. The left, right, center, moderate, celibate, deliberate, and any other “ate” out there just really and effectively put the world on notice that we don’t have ourselves together. The ad messages, debates, interviews, phone calls, etc just made me sick to my stomach. The Facebook pundits, touting freedom of speech, torched so many relationships, and for what?? Just to say that they were right?? Just to try and get people onto their side? Yesterday, our Pastor made it plain.

“There is no our side and their side. There is on GOD”S side.”- Gene Bebee
When the elections went final, the rhetoric was just as bad. And in the end, it’s all about control. We want control. We lust after control!

During worship service eysterday, I was so convicted on that point. Control. I want to control when I get a teaching job and where. I want to control when I take the pulpit and where. How stupid am I? Even in a time of great trial and tribulation, the timing on it is still God’s to control! Even when our accounts scream EMPTY, like they do most days now, God is still in control.

So, here is the thing that I really felt God speaking to my heart yesterday. I felt like telling you all here, rather than putting it up on Facebook. I know it won’t be read nearly as much, or “liked” as much, but here it is anyway.
I believe God impressed it on me to stop asking why! Plain and simply, trust God. Take off your shoes, realize that there is a God above who care and plans out every aspect our my life, and quit asking WHY! That hit me like a ton of bricks. I’m so quick to ask God why; to demand answers. God is not beholden to me. It is the complete opposite. I am dependent on His omnipotence and love just to take my next breath.

Here is the second part to that though. As Christians, we are instructed to pray for our leaders and those in authority. I truly believe that God is calling all Christians to the carpet on this one. Your calling as a Christian supersedes ANY affiliation that you may have with a political party, sorority, fraternity, or whatever. And as a Christian, we are supposed to pray for our leaders, respect them, and uplift them. I felt God telling me that what happens to our nation during the next 4 years will fall on us. Will we free God in our governments to counsel our leaders? Will we pray that our President does God’s will, whether he knows it or not? Or will we tear down and destroy this country that was built on being under submissiveness to God?

This is what I know in my heart to be true. God wants to bring His Kingdom through us. Our role in this is to model Christ to the nations. We must pray. We must pray. We must pray. Dare I say it again, we must pray.

Prayer is not a political issue. We can’t waste our time engaging in meaningless pursuits. God’s will must be done regardless of who is leading. As Christians, our job is to intercede and pray with all of the power of the Holy Spirit, realizing that no matter who sits in the White House or any other place of “power”, God sits on the throne of Heaven. He is our source! He is our Provider! He is our banner! He is our Redeemer! He is GOD!!!!!

Woo (wipes forehead). Sorry for that hastily written blog, but I knew I needed to write it. I was just putting it off. The sermon yesterday just reinforced what I knew God was already speaking to me. Oh, and if I offended anyone, I’m sorry. It still had to be said.

Until next time, be blessed!

