This week has felt so busy. Maybe it has been, but then again, maybe it hasn’t been. All I know is that I woke up this morning feeling a little off kilter, and then when I read my Bible app verse for the day, I understood why. Check it out:

Psalm 42:1- As the deep pants for the water brooks, so my soul pants for You, O God. My soul thirsts for God, for the living God. (NKJV).

I realized that my soul is thirsty. Seems that there has not been enough time in the day, but if I’m honest, I haven’t taken opportunity of the time when it has been there. So, for that I repent. But thinking about things now, I recognize the symptoms of thirst in my life this week. Think about how you feel when you are just really thirsty. I don’t mean just needing a drink of water to wet your tongue. I’m talking about a dry, parched throat. Perhaps after a long run, or extreme exertion of your body, in the heat of the day. Can you imagine the deep need to drink water? Not soda, not Gatorade, Powerade, Kool-Aid, or any other of those aids. Not 5 Hour Energy, Worx, or whatever else is on the market. Only water! Can you imagine how good that initial splash of water feels as it hits the back of your throat and slides down into your stomach? To me, it feels like life! Ever wondered why?

So many people don’t drink water now. Scientists have come out with research saying that regular water does not have the restorative electrolytes that people need after much exertion. Hmm. That’s interesting. So, water isn’t good enough. That’s basically what they are saying. We need things outside of water, in order to stay in perfect health and have our bodies operate optimally. Yet, it’s water that can sustain us even in the absence of food; at least for a time. See, I’ve never thought about water and thirst so much as I am right now while I type up this post. The Bible addresses it quite a bit though. Let’s see what it says:

Psalm 143:6- I spread out my hands to You; My soul longs for You like a thirsty land. Selah.

Psalm 63:1- O God, You are my God. Early will I seek You; My soul thirsts for You; My flesh longs for you in a dry and thirsty land where there is no water.

Isaiah 29:8- It shall be as when a hungry man dreams, and look- He eats. But he awakes and his soul is still empty. Or as when a thirsty man dreams. And look- he drinks; but he awakes and indeed he is faint…

Isaiah 44:3- For I will pour water on him who is thirsty, and floods on the dry ground. I will pour My Spirit on your descendants, and My blessing on your offspring.

John4:14- but whoever drinks of the water that I shall give him will never thirst. But the water that I shall give him will become to him a fountain of water springing up into everlasting life.

And these are just a smidgen of the entries containing thirst, thirsty, or some form of the word. I think God is trying to show us something that the world desperately wants to refute.

I can remember once playing golf in the heat of a Mississippi sun on a VERY hot day. The heat index was over 110 degrees. I had long since run out of water, and was standing on the green waiting on my turn to putt out. All of a sudden, my vision began to blur, and I felt very wobbly. My throat was dry and scratchy, and then I felt like I was gonna hurl. We finished the hole, and I ran to the clubhouse.  They sold soda and some great, sugary lemonade, but there was only one thing that I knew that I needed. Water. I drank it like it was the very last time that I would ever have water in my lifetime. I INSTANTLY felt like myself again, better actually.  Our bodies need water because we are made up of water. This world needs water because it is a majority of water. We need Jesus because we are made from Jesus. This world needs Jesus because it was made BY Jesus. Are you seeing the correlation? So, since we were made of Jesus and BY Jesus, going through life without Jesus is the same as playing golf in insane heat indices. It’s crazy!

Why would we choose to thirst when the Living Water is as close as our next breath? Well, it’s because we fill our lives with Gatorade and Lemonade and Powerade, and Kool-Aid. We fill our lives with Coke, Sprite, Sierra Mist, Root Beer, real beer, wine, and everything else. We tell ourselves that these things taste so much better than water; that water is bland and does nothing for us. We listen to media tell us that a glass of wine is good for our hearts, so we overindulge. But in reality, Water is the only thing that can bring us back to ourselves. We say it’s easier to grab a soda, but water is more abundantly available. Same with Jesus. We choose to grab onto power, prestige, and possessions, when Christ is ready to avail Himself. We say that our lives are fine, yet inside our souls are crying out and panting, close to death.  Go back and reread Isaiah 29:8. Let the truth of that verse penetrate your heart. We think that we are drinking. We think that we have enough Christ. We think we are doing our best. But NO! God still sees the same thirst souls that Christ died to hydrate.

Yet Christ is still ready. He is the Ultimate Water. He knows the true chemistry behind water, and the healing restorative effects of it, because He is the water that water was formed after.

We say that once you have the Living Water, you never thirst again. I don’t think that’s accurate, so allow me to edit that statement a bit. Once you taste the true Living Water, your thirst for things other than Him will leave, but your continued thirst for more of Him will steadily increase. It will increase to the point where you don’t feel right when you haven’t spent time with Him. You will feel off kilter, not quite yourself. Your soul will go off like an alarm telling you that it’s thirsty!

This morning I realized that I was thirsty, so I’m drinking. And drinking. And I just wanted to share my morning drink with you.

Until next time, be blessed!

