John A. Piper has written a book entitled Desiring God that I started reading a while back, but put down. I’m probably going to pick it back up again here soon, because I’ve been thinking about it quite a bit lately. The whole idea of a Christian Hedonist intrigues me. When I first picked up the book, I guess I wasn’t really in a thinking mode, because a lot of it went directly over my head. The part that sticks out to me though, is the idea that I’m about to share with you. I welcome y our thoughts as well, because I’m going on my own derivative of his definition. So bring on your comments. 

 

 
According to Mr. Piper, a Christian Hedonist is one who takes his full pleasure or delight in the Lord. This is a person who is not mainly concerned with what God can do, but merely one who is so caught up and enraptured by the bigness of God, his immaculate nature, His unfailing love,His eternal faithfulness and devotion to His creation, that their time is spent reveling in those facts rather than constantly begging and pleading with God to do this, that, or other.  Now, we usually think of a hedonist in worldly terms as one who is hell bent on obtaining and pursuing pleasure in whatever form the world provides it; be it drugs, sex, or alcohol.  The world provides a lot of these avenues. Whatever it is that we think we need to have pleasure, we can find it on television, on the Internet, or on the countless liquor stores that fill our cities. We can find it on street corners, growing in yards illegally, and elsewhere. That’s what the world specializes in. But,that’s also what God specializes in. I mean, think about it, all of these vain pursuits lead to destruction. Furthermore, they are only horrible substitutes for the ultimate delight- God!

 

 
We were created to have communion with Him, and as a result of sin, we have spent the entirety of our existence trying to make up for the intense need that sin leaves in our lives.  So we fill it with more sin. Or, we fill it with cable tv.Or, we fill it with education or professional successes. But at our core, we want God. We need God. Anything else goes against our wiring. We were created to delight in the Lord.

 

The verse “delight in the Lord and He will give you the desires of your heart” used to stump me. I wondered how to “delight” in anything! I mean, there’s not really a blueprint, or any recommended actions that go along with that edict. Delight in the Lord. Ok…how do I do that? Over the last few days, it has really hit home.  When I delight in the Lord, I am actively worshiping Him with my whole heart and soul. I am recognizing my need and addiction to Him. I am recognizing that apart form Him, I have no being or existence. When I delight in God, I am striving to see His beauty in everything, to notice His workings across all of creation. And because of this, my lips and my soul sing a constant hymn of praise and awe to Him. I run after God, because He is my pleasure. Being in His presence is my pleasure. And in that way, I become a Christian Hedonist!

 

 
So if we delight ourselves in God, He will give us our desires, right? Here is the cool thing. When God becomes our addiction, our primary source of pleasure; when delighting in God becomes our soul purpose and activity on a daily basis, our heart’s desires become HIS heart’s desires. We become molded into the image of Jesus and are now completely one with the Father. The things that we think we need to be happy all melt away in the glorious light of the Trinity.

 

 
Would you dare become a Christian Hedonist? I would. When is the last time that you took time OUTSIDE of worship during church to recognize all that God is, all that He does, and how perfect His love and creation is? I challenge you to chase after Him with a fiery passion, and delight yourself in Him. The pleasure that He provides is worth more than anything that the world can ever offer.

 

 

 

Until next time, be blessed!
