Acts 20:22-24 “But there is another urgency before me now. I feel compelled to go to Jerusalem. I’m completely in the dark about what will happen when I get there. I do know that it won’t be any picnic, for the Holy Spirit has let me know repeatedly and clearly that there are hard times and imprisonment ahead. But that matters little. What matters most to me is to finish what God started; the job the Master Jesus gave me of letting everyone Imeet know all about this incredibly extravagant generosity of God. (MSG)”
 
Would you still go? I guess that’s the question. Would you still go? In the sermon yesterday, we were challenged to do whatever for the Kingdom. We were challenged to quit thinking so much, and praying so much, and just do whatever. When I say this verse from YouVersion for today, I immediately wondered if I would still go. 
 
As Christians, we know that we should not value our lives above the Gospel. We know that dying for the Gospel is an honor and a privilege.We read the stories about missionaries in dire situations, facing certain death, singing praises to God as they are herded towards the chopping block.Would you still go? If the Holy Spirit told you to go to the town just next to yours, and as you’re packing He comes back to you and tells you that when you return, you’ll be minus a limb, would you still go?
 
When did we become so comfortable? Gosh. Taking stock of my own life, I have played it so safe that it sickens me. I’m a thinker. I ponder every possible outcome of a situation and then decide which aspect is the safer route. It’s a trait that I have had my entire life. It’s why I allow my son the freedom to be impulsive, because I admire that spark in him. My reluctance toseize the moment has lead to me never trying out for American Idol, or anything like that. It’s paralyzed me with fear of failure, when I know in my heart thatthe only failure I could ever encounter is to never try. But as my Pastor spoke yesterday. I realized that the types of things that I desire from God will never come to me unless I can find a way to throw caution to the wind and put my mouth where I claim my faith to be. At some point, our actions must line up with what we confess! God has not called us to live lives that read like cautionary tales. The Christian life should be one of excitement, daring, risk.It is in those things that God really shows himself, and provides the resources to complete the mission. I believe that God will never allow a Christian who acts in faith, to fail. Even if we aren’t doing the exact thing that God wants for us, as long as we are doing SOMETHING to further His Kingdom, He will uphold that faith and provide the results HE desires.
 
I always believed that God will reveal His will if we wait.I’m beginning to see the error in that. My philosophy is changing. I nowbelieve that God will reveal His will if we act. Get out there and see what we can do to change the world. Get out there and see how we can change our household. See how well we interact inside of a ministry. See how well we workin a church department. Cultivate our skills and talents for God and then wait for Him to show specifically how He wants to use us in that arena or another,because He will shepherd us into His will. But we first have to get up and go! Paul understood this intricately.
As a Pharisee, Paul was a learned man. He had the benefit of the best teaching that money could buy. He was a brilliant thinker, and already had a penchant for being impulsive. God simply took these traits and put themto work in building the Kingdom. Paul was always willing to go, do, preach, and model. Even when he got it wrong, he was still ready to go, do, preach, and model.  Read Acts 16:6-11 to see what I mean. God had to put this brother to sleep in order to get through to him! But I’m sure that the entire time, God was laughing and proud of Paul’s insistence on spreading the Gospel. He lived with urgency, yet his own public ministry was longer than 3.5 years.
 
So, would you go? Would I go? I can tell you this. Jesus came. Jesus went. He knew what the outcome would be. He knew that He would not just suffer hardship. He knew that he would pay a price that only He could pay.Yet, He didn’t flinch.  He wanted to finish what His Father had started. He wanted to the world to know about the incredible extravagance of God’s grace! He only had 3.5 years to accomplish His mission.  How many of us spend 3.5years wallowing in self-pity and self-doubt? I can only say this because I have done the same at times. We wait on the assurance that God is with us before acting, when God has already said that He will never leave us or forsake us.When we read the Bible, what are we really understanding about God? Is He a charlatan? Is He not truth? Has He not sent us out to go and be a light and to preserve a dying world? Do we really believe Him? If we really did, I suspect that our world would be completely different. If we really believed God, we would never be comfortable, and at the ends of our lives the pages of our epistles would be littered with tears, rips, blots, and stains, because we lived our lives without regard for our lives in order to ensure that His name was made great among all nations.
 
In my heart of hearts, I want to do the same thing. I pray that I can get out of my own way, and God’s way, and just do whatever. I pray that I will allow the Holy Spirit to direct me, but that I would take advantage of every opportunity to spread the word about the Savior of the world. Whether this takes me into situations where I may be harmed, who cares? Jesus poured his life out for my sins. That is a debt that I can never pay, but I can be willing to give of myself in whatever way I can, to prevent this generation from seeing hellfire and brimstone.
 
So, would YOU go?
 
Until next time, be blessed.
